Seize the moment

22:00.

That’s what my cellphone tells me. The day has long gone to bed. I should probably do the same.

22:35

Sleepy but awake. With my teeth brushed and comfortable pj’s on, I lie in bed. Thinking.

23:01

There’s something running on the roof. And there is something having a real feast on my stomach. That something is my dear friend Stress.

00:00

I don’t know if you know Stress, so let me introduce you: 3 Months ago Procrastination and Laziness got married. They had a lovely honeymoon – sitting on the couch flicking through channels (not really watching anything), spending time on Social Media for hours on end and having many afternoon naps. A month into their marriage they became pregnant. With twins!

00:36

It wasn’t long until Stress and Worry were born. Still being infants they were adorable – just a bit of butterflies in the stomach. As they grew up they’ve made a couple of friends – Sleepless Nights,Nervousness and the beloved Anxiety Attack.

01:03

Stress grew up and has now come to live with me. And tonight Stress has invited Sleepless Nights and Anxiety Attack for a sleepover…

02:24

If only I’ve never became comfortable with Procrastination. If only I didn’t allow Laziness to take up so much of my time…

04:19

But here I am. Sharing my bed with Stress and Anxiety Attack. Giving up space on my pillow for Sleepless Nights. I’m aware of unfinished tasks and yet another unproductive day.

05:00

The first light of morning comes through my curtains and gently strokes my hair. With the realization that so many opportunities have been within my reach to seize,

I get up,

get dressed,

make myself a good cup of coffee

and plonk down on the couch. It’s time to watch the repeat of Desperate Housewives

2 thoughts on “Seize the moment

Leave a Reply

